Posted by: jility | January 1, 2011

Comedy/Tragedy

Laughter has been known to cure everything from shingles to cancer. It is the best remedy for all that ails you. I love to laugh. I love to laugh at anything and everything but especially at myself and my life. Without going into detail, Mel and I have had great lives but we have also had more than our share of tragedies. When I think about the horrifically sad things we have dealt with in our lifetimes, it is overwhelming. The only way we have managed to stay above ground, has been through laughter. Both of us LOVE to laugh and the source or the brunt of the joke is immaterial. The important thing is the laughter.

There are many great quotes regarding laughter. Rather than putting them all in here, I will give you the links to read for yourself.

http://www.fatfreekitchen.com/home-remedy/laughter.html

http://www.quotegarden.com/laughter.html

There are many different kinds of humor. Things that I might find funny, may offend somebody else (this is often the case!) but that is their problem, not mine. Lately, I have been doing a lot of thinking about what is funny and what isn’t. There doesn’t seem to be a middle of the road. People either like warped humor or they don’t. They either get it or they don’t.

There are certain subjects that are taboo for some people. They just don’t find them funny. For some it is religion for others it might be politics and for you it might be family. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my family and Mel’s! They are wonderful but they are not exempt from our humor. Luckily, MOST of them also have a good sense of humor (most being the key word). Those who have no use for our humor, well, their loss.

So when we got the idea to make a cartoon about agility and family, I knew some would not find it funny. We have written a lot of things but rarely do I laugh while I am writing. When we wrote the Agility Christmas cartoon, I laughed out loud all the way through. So did Mel. How is it that some people find our brand of humor hysterical while others find it distasteful? I don’t understand that nor, I fear, will I ever. The ability to laugh in the face of tragedy has gotten us through some pretty bad times over the years. I pray we never lose that.

So if you have not seen our cartoon, here it is. And while you’re watching it, remember this…

Family time may give you memories but points are forever!


Responses

  1. Well now you have done it, pissed off the entire Bassett Hound
    agility community!!!!

    Mike

    • If you have Bassetts, you MUST have a good sense of humor!


Leave a Reply

Categories

