Posted by: jility | January 19, 2011

Settling Dust

The dust has settled (and we have a LOT of dust ‘cause we live on a dirt road!) from my trip to Santa Rosa. The laundry is done and my bags unpacked. It has been three days now since I left the sheltered, nurturing environment of the McDougall 10 Day Program.  The enthusiasm they gave me is still as high as it was and I definitely see the MANY rewards from eating this way!

Having been a vegan for more than 20 years, I doubted I would see much change at all but I was SOOOO WRONG! I feel better, think more clearly and the most incredible change of all is my feeling of wellbeing and happiness. I have no idea why my mood has changed but it has. Even Sir Cussalot seems less surly. I guess our brains are finally getting what they have wanted all along – STARCH!

The only thing we ever eat in the morning is fruit. Now we are eating a huge bowl of oatmeal every morning. I use Pacific unsweetened low fat original almond milk on mine and Sir C uses Pacific oat milk. I put a sliced banana on mine and he uses maple syrup (I don’t particularly like sweet things). I am trying to get as much starch in our diets as possible from whole foods (not processed) like potatoes, whole grain brown rice, etc.

One of the most puzzling things that has happened is I have lost my cravings for salt and fat. They said when you don’t get enough fiber in your diet, the body begins to crave sugar, salt and fat. Well that is certainly true for us! I have no desire for movie popcorn!!! WTF? I was SO addicted to it, I went to the movies JUST for the popcorn! I wonder if there is a 12 step program for movie popcorn: Hi, my name is Helen and I am a movie popcorn addict. It has been two weeks since my last popcorn fix…

Sir C is enthused about the changes we have made as well. One of the many things I love about him is that he is so open to change and new things! No matter what hair-brained scheme I get, he is usually there to support me!

There are so many McDougall type recipes online. All I had to do was Google Fat Free McDougall Recipes and there was a never ending supply! The McDougall website has a bunch of great ones as well and they are all free. If you are interested, you can go to www.drmcdougall.com and there on the home page there is a link on the left to newsletter archives. There you will find tons and tons of recipes in every newsletter.

So far my weight loss has been 8 pounds in a week and a half and my cholesterol has gone down 62 points!!! Pretty remarkable when you think about how much food I am eating! I can’t believe I have had all this information right from the start of our veganism yet I have struggled for so long with my weight. Some of us a just a bit slower than others I guess ;).


Responses

  1. Your pretty inspiring.
    I am very happy for your new insight and that you have shared it.
    I’m rethinking my drink.


Leave a Reply

Categories

