Posted by: jility | December 27, 2012

Political Humor or Offensive Rubbish?

When I was a kid, I was addicted to political humor, especially the satirical type. Mark Russell was/is one of my favorites. One of my favorite things to listen to as a young girl, was the hysterically funny album named “The First Family” (yes, an actual record album made of vinyl. That was long before iPods, DVDs or the internet).

I was 12 years old at the time “The First Family” record was released. You really need to understand the times then to find it as funny as I did. I listened to that album over and over again. I laughed as hard each time I listened to it. It didn’t matter if you were a Republican or a Democrat, it was funny.

You see, back then, you could make fun of a political party or politician and, for the most part, not be chastised or condemned. The times were lighter, and there was no such thing as political correctness.

In our home, my mother was a Democrat and my father was a Republican. He always said that if the Republican Party was good enough for Abraham Lincoln, it was good enough for him. There weren’t many political discussions in our home, so I didn’t grow up to be very political.

Republicans were quite different back in the 1950s and 1960s than they are today. Back then, one of the biggest concerns of Republicans was that the new Democratic Catholic President, JFK, would bring his church views into the office and Republicans were very concerned about the separation of church and state. My how things have flip flopped in that regard!

Anyway, back then we could tell jokes on just about any subject and people laughed. It didn’t matter who was the brunt of the joke, if it was funny, we laughed. Nowadays, you must be very careful who hears or reads your political jokes! Some of the people don’t find political humor very humorous at all! It depends on which side your political bread is buttered I guess or how seriously you take yourself and/or your political affiliation.

Since I don’t take much of anything very seriously, nothing is sacred in my book. I try to surround myself with people who feel the same way. I have neither the time nor the energy to deal with people who take politics, religion or any else too seriously. Life is just too dang short and, in the big scheme of things, WHO GIVES A CRAP? A million years from now, the world won’t care about some dumb ass joke I posted on Facebook, or some irreverent thing I said about a politician or a religion or anything else.

I believe that everyone has the right to their beliefs! I admire people who stand up for their beliefs, but I also expect to be able to express my humor and my beliefs without fallout from those on the other side of the buttered political bread. I don’t force my beliefs on anyone (or at least I try hard not to!). I try hard to allow my friends and my family to think how they think and believe in what they believe without judgment or reprimands from me. Their beliefs are just that: their beliefs! They don’t have to be my beliefs! I don’t have to agree with them, but I have no right to try to change them or think less of them for their beliefs, even if I think they are a dumbass for said beliefs.

I post things on Facebook that I find funny. I am sure that many people don’t find them as humorous as I do, but if it makes me laugh, I might post it for others to enjoy. On several occasions, OK, on quite a few occasions, I have been chastised for some things I posted that I thought were hysterical.
One such joke I took down because, after reading what the offended person wrote, I thought, yeah, maybe it might be offensive to some, so I caved and removed the joke.

I honestly don’t care one single bit about anyone else’s political or religious beliefs and I expect the same in return. Even though I was raised Catholic and attended eight torturous years of Catholic school (coincidently named Saint Mel’s Day School!) I now spend many of my Sundays worshipping at the Church of the Holy Rear Cross. Many other agility folks have converted to The Church of the Holy Blind Cross, but there are still quite a few who continue to worship at The Church of the Holy Front Cross. Disagreements as to which agility church holds the true key to happiness can get just as heated as political or other religious arguments.

The bottom line is: What difference does it make, where we worship, which crosses we use, what we eat, feed our dogs or laugh at.

When I posted what I thought was an hysterical cartoon of the “Homo-slackass Erectus” on FB, I never even bothered to read past the name of the newly discovered species. I didn’t even realize it contained political humor (or horror as some pointed out). I guess poking fun at the current administration is off limits for some. Sorry, but NO Politician is off limits to me, regardless of their Party affiliation.

So, just in case some of you may have missed that cartoon, here it is again. Now, remember, I didn’t write it! I just appreciated the humor enough to post it.

PLEASE, if you are offended, don’t bother to write to me. Do some digging and find the extremely clever person who wrote this masterpiece. I am sure they would love to hear from you regarding how politically incorrect it is.

Homo SLackass Erectus


Responses

  1. Loved that album. When I was in 4th grade I took it to school so the class could listen to it during lunch — that was November 22, 1963. Needless to say we didn’t listen to it that day, and I never listened to it again. km

  2. see now the one I saw didn’t have that barb at Obama in it … and was just as funny, mainly because I am a school teacher. Truth be told, most of the kids who dress like that don’t vote at all.

  3. Hi Mel, Enjoyed Helen’s comments ! Mom had that Von Meter album . . . it was in the albums that were stored under the coffee table in the front room. So, now, I guess it is wherever Mel stored all of the stuff from Mom’s house. Ron


Leave a Reply

Categories

