Posted by: jility | January 1, 2013

New Year Resolutions

Ever since I learned about New Year resolutions, I have made them. Every year is pretty much the same:

Eat better

Lose weight

Don’t be a big fat pig

Every year my resolution lasts a few minutes, a few days or, if I am lucky, a few weeks. They never last longer than that.

Every year I get fatter.

I hate being fat.

I love eating.

Clearly, eating is more rewarding to me than being lean.

I used to want to lose weight so I looked good in clothes and a bathing suit.

Now, at nearly 63, who gives a crap what I look like in clothes? And, I wouldn’t be caught dead in a bathing suit, regardless of how much I weighed!

All my life I have dieted. I have changed my eating to be healthy. I went vegan more than 22 years ago. Being vegan doesn’t mean you get to eat whatever you want and maintain your girlish figure. Potato chips are vegan. Movie popcorn (my last horrific vice) is vegan…

I can take some wonderfully low fat vegan recipes and make them fattening. I do a great job of that if I do say so myself.

There have been times in my life that I was lean and fit and looked pretty dang good. I was skinny as a post when I met Sir Cussalot. I am 5’8” tall and I weighed 118 pounds then. That was during the time of Twiggy, so I was trying to get down 115! I ate about a half cup of food every other day (LITERALLY!). I looked like a starving Ethiopian! Sir C made the mistake of telling me I was too thin! HA! That’ll learn him!

Here I am with my son, Trent. I actually was thin once or twice in my life!

Here I am with my son, Trent. I actually was thin once or twice in my life!

I did find advantages to being fat when I was younger:

  1. Men didn’t hit on me.
  2. I was no threat to my sisters.
  3. Women didn’t get jealous of  me.
  4. I could talk to anyone’s significant other with no chance or worry from their other half.
  5. I didn’t spend a lot of money on clothes because I didn’t want the horror of looking at the size on the tag.

With the exception of number 5, not one of those things matters anymore at my age. Nobody wants to hit on a wrinkled old woman even if she is lean and fit (well, with the exception of a certain AKC agility judge perhaps, so I guess there is still THAT advantage of staying fat).

So, this year is going to be different.

Instead of making my yearly resolution to lose weight, I am going to make a resolution to get as fat as I possibly can. I plan to answer Sir C’s question, “Just how fat do you plan on getting?” I figure, since I break all my other resolutions, maybe I will break this one too!

FAT CHANCE!

My money is on this resolution being the only one I have ever kept.

Starting off my New Year resolution in style, I made a vegan version of Claire’s fudge. Claire Papows lived next door to us when we were kids. I adored her and she took great care of us. She actually talked to me! She treated me like a person worthy of being alive. That was a rare thing in my childhood. I loved hanging out with Claire. She was a kind and loving saint in my book.

Claire Papows and me. She made me feel worthy of being alive.

Claire Papows and me. She made me feel worthy of being alive.

So, this is for you Saint Claire, wherever you are (I am sure, however, you are in a heavenly place where all your most wonderful dreams are a reality). Thank you for always listening to me and always treating me as if I mattered.

Claire’s Fudge

1 2/3 cup Evaporated milk (not sweetened)

2 Tbl Butter

4 1/2 cups Sugar

2 cups Semi-sweet Chocolate chips

3 Bars Baker’s German sweet chocolate

1 jar Marshmallow Fluff

2 cups Chopped walnuts

dash of salt

1. Combine sugar, butter, milk & salt in saucepan.

2. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 6 minutes.

3. place chocolate in a double boiler and melt, being careful not to burn it or let water spit into it.

4. Place Marshmallow & nuts in a large bowl.

5. Add melted chocolate & sugar mixture and stir till well mixed.

  1. Pour into a greased pan (13 x 9) and chill. Store in the refrigerator!

My vegan version for maximum weight gain:

Vegan Claire’s fudge

3 bags Semi-sweet Chocolate chips (vegan)

1 cup Silk coconut milk creamer

4 1/2 cups raw sugar

2 Tbl Earth Balance margarine

1 tsp vanilla

1 jar vegan marshmallow fluff (10 oz) Suzanne’s Ricemellow Creme

1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans (optional)

pinch of salt

1. Place chocolate in a double boiler and melt over medium heat. Stir often and do not allow water to spit into the chocolate.

2. Mix sugar, milk & salt together in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 6 minutes.

3. Add marshmallow fluff and stir well to melt. Continue simmering for another minute.

4. Mix sugar mixture & melted chocolate in a large bowl. Blend well with a hand mixer until creamy. Sir in nuts with a spoon if using.

5. Pour fudge into a greased (I used Earth Balance) 13″ x 9″ baking dish and cool.

6. Refrigerate until chilled. Keep refrigerated so the fudge stays hard.

Happy New Year everyone!

P.S. If your New Year resolution is to learn more about your dog’s structure, come join my 5 week online structure class, What’s Your Angle, in Daisy Peel’s classroom. Registration opens tomorrow.

We have great discussions, learn lots about the dogs and have some fun too!

Check it out: http://classroom.daisypeel.com/online-class-signup/whats-your-angle/

Angle-Covers


Responses

  1. Enjoying your blogs. Happy New Year, minus resolutions, to you and Mel.

    • Happy New Year Sandy! 🙂

  2. Hi Mel, Enjoyed reading Helen’s latest blog ! Ron


Leave a Reply

Categories

